Finally: Tom Strong and the Planet of Peril

TSTRONG_Cv1_col_sm

I can at long last announce that the first issue of the new Tom Strong mini-series, Tom Strong and the Planet of Peril, will be released on July 31 of this year. This project has been in the works forever, interrupted by dozens of other smaller jobs I took on, such as my Action Comics backups and the Legends of the Dark Knight Digital First story I drew. Tom Strong and the Planet of Peril was written by Peter Hogan (a veteran of the original Tom Strong series and writer of Tom Strong and the Robots of Doom as well as the wonderful Resident Alien comic for Dark Horse Comics), inked by my long-time collaborator Karl Story, and is being colored by Jordie Bellaire (colorist on my Rocketeer Adventures 2 story and my Action Comics backups). You can see the final color art for the cover of the first issue of Planet of Peril above (early uncorrected colors were used in the articles and the DC Comics solicitation notice, a link I’ll post below as soon as DC puts it up).

If you’d like more info, here are some links to the original story that broke the news as well as a few other sites that have picked up the story:

http://geek-news.mtv.com/2013/04/05/tom-strong-vertigo-dc/

http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2013/04/tom-strong-returns-in-july-with-planet-of-peril/

http://www.comicsalliance.com/2013/04/05/tom-strong-hogan-sprouse-moore-vertigo-dc/

http://comicsbeat.com/vertigo-to-publish-tom-strong-the-planet-of-peril-in-july/

And speaking of that Legends of the Dark Knight story I drew, it’s also been slated for (physical) publication in July, as Legends of the Dark Knight #10.

–C

5 thoughts on “Finally: Tom Strong and the Planet of Peril

  1. Finally!!! Can’t wait! And just in time to have you autograph it at FanExpo Canada!!! LOL! July 31st can’t come fast enough!

  2. Chris, congratulations! This is welcome news. I greatly enjoyed “Tom Strong and the Robots of Doom,” and I’m really looking forward to this new series. I suspect that the lengthy delay has been related to the reorganization of DC, and not a lack of support for Tom Strong in general. Is that true? Did your first miniseries do well? I am so glad to have more Tom Strong adventures, and to experience what a fine job you are doing with Peter Hogan in maintaining the overall feel of the previous stories.

  3. As far as I know, the lengthy delay had nothing to do with any DC reorganization or lack of support. We did have to wait a tiny amount of time for the go-ahead to start the new series, but mostly there was so much time between series because 1) DC wanted the series to be pretty much finished before it was solicited, and 2) they kept offering me other work while I was working on Planet of Peril–close to 100 pages, by my calculations, including numerous covers, short stories and even some full issues.

Leave a Reply

