Shameless Begging! Original Artwork Up For Grabs!
(I originally posted this on my MySpace page and I thought it couldn’t hurt to post it here as well)
Okay, Brian K. Vaughan begged for an iPhone on his blog(and got one!), so I thought I’d put the word out for something I want but probably won’t be able to get my hands on–way less expensive than an iPhone, though–don’t worry. Specifically, if anyone reading who’s going to the San Diego Comic Con can pick up one of Michael Golden’s Exclusive San Diego sketchbooks for me, I’ll give you a free page of original comic art. I’ll send a list of what I have to whomever gets their hands on a sketchbook, and we can work out a trade. Thanks!

–C

12 thoughts on “

  1. I’m interested in this exchange too. I’m a big fan of your work. I’m not at SD, but a friend is getting me stuff, so I can ask for a Golden sketchbook. However, I don’t want to squeeze Steven out if you have an agreement with him, although from the post he is not giving a 100% promise to deliver. Should I still get one?

  2. By all means, if it’s not too much trouble–I know a few people who’d be happy to have one but can’t make it to San Diego themselves either, and I have plenty of pages to go around. Also, based on the wear and tear I’ve already put on my Golden Modern Masters after reading and re-reading for the just past day, a second copy of the sketchbook couldn’t hurt! Thanks! I’ll update my list of art and get it ready to send to both of you. Incidentally, I don’t know how much they’re charging for these sketchbooks, so I apologize if it puts either of you in a bind–if they’re ridiculously expensive, don’t bother with ’em.–C

  3. Most sketchbooks I’ve seen advertised are around $20. At least the ones put out by Gaijin and Wildstorm seem to be running in that range. Sunday’s show is a bit trim, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to grad a copy – but I will be looking for Mike there. He’s a favorite of mine, as well.

  4. OK, my friend got me the Golden sketchbook. So I suppose you just email me the artlist and we work something out? If so, eemail me at malvinv AT yahoo.comI’m hoping putting AT instead of @ will block spam…

  5. I am so bummed. Sunday sold out before I could get my tickets. Sorry I won’t be able to trade for some of your art. Looks like you’ll be getting your book, though, so I’m glad for you.

  6. Sorry to hear you didn’t get tickets–it’s crazy this year! And I’m sure I’ll see you at a future show and I’m making new art all the time, so there’ll be plenty to choose from. Thanks for the offer anyway!–C

  7. Wow, it seems as if you had no small stable of fans and friends willing to help you out with your request, Chris. If I had known ahead of time I would have snagged you one free of charge.Hopefully in the end you got the sketchbook you were looking for?

  8. Yeah, I hope you come out to an LA show or maybe next SDCC. I’d love to get a chance to meet you and get some books signed…So, are you going to put out a sketchbook of your artwork? Everytime I run across a character model sheet you drew, I print it for inspiration… You should put one together…

Leave a Reply

