Rejects (and a few new things for sale)

I’m adding three new pieces to the art sales section today: unused fully finished pencilled versions of two pages and a cover from two recent projects I’ve been working on this year. This may inspire questions such as “why were these pages not used?” or “who made the decision not to use them?” and “why re-draw everything multiple times?” and “what the heck is wrong with you?” Well, the answer to the first three questions is that I was unhappy/unsatisfied with the finished results and decided myself to re-draw certain parts of the page. Yes, the art is drawn in pencil and theoretically erasable, but various factors such as the quality of the paper and how much I’ve already erased and redrawn parts of the page determine whether or not I erase again or just start over on a fresh piece of paper. If I start over, I use my lightbox to trace the parts I do like, so that helps the process go faster. The pages I’m putting up today are pieces I initially liked, but after living with them for a day I noticed problems I couldn’t just let go. Anyway, as anyone can tell by now, the answer to the fourth question above is that obviously I’m  f***ing nuts. I prefer to say “I’m very picky and critical of my own work, continuously pushing myself to do better…”

Whatever the case, check them out by clicking on the “Art for Sale” tab above (look in the Action Comics and Legends of the Dark Knight sections)!

–C

3 thoughts on “Rejects (and a few new things for sale)

  1. @Chris Sprouse, I’m a huge fan of your work. Can you give us an estimate of when we’ll see your next TOM STRONG miniseries?

  2. I am still surprised that Hollywood does not make a film about Tom Strong. You have now reboots of films and soon there be reboots of reboots and here stand Tom Strong with all his adventures waiting to make a good blockbuster Movie.

Leave a Reply

